Energy Live Session: Passenger in Bern

I almost saw myself begging on my knees to somehow get a ticket. Somehow winning seemed not to work out. The last Energy Live Session I was able to attend, was over a year ago and by the way by Max Giesinger (read here). But in the end there was still a happy ending and I was able to participate at Energy Live Session of Passenger. At the end of this Friday night at Du Théâtre, I experienced even more than expected.

You never know

Well, I’ll see Passenger at Stars Of Sounds and will also be at the concert in Zurich on his fall tour. I had hoped for a street concert of him. During the last few days Passenger had been playing some in the UK and Germany. Unfortunately, he mentioned, that it has often been raining, like it already did 2 years ago in Bern. Have you been in Bern? Unfortunately I have missed it – work and so. That I could not see him live, was not the problem. But in such a small setting you rarely see Mike Rosenberg aka Passenger nowadays. So I was so happy to attend the showcase.

Directly after work, I was still too early on site. Going home was not really worth it and yes, you never know what will happen and who you might run into. Super spontaneous and unexpected actually such a “you never know” situation happened. I was allowed to attend the meet & greet!

Of course, I was totally unprepared at such a short notice. I had forgotten to print photos for autographs and the CDs were at home too. Never mind. I was looking forward to a hello and a short chat. And thanks to today’s technology, you always have a camera with you. 😉

It wasn’t much more than “Meet & Greet” and only a very short meeting. Quick hello to all five winners and then taking pictures quickly. But I got even an autograph then. Fortunately the manager had tour cards and a pen with him. I then was raving about the upcoming Stars Of Sounds and their great festival location. So the weather may be good and the festival organizers will hopefully do their best to ensure that I have not promised too much to him 😉 If there is the possibility of a street concert, I could not ask him anymore.

Album No. 10

1.5 hours later Passenger stood on the small mini stage of the Du Théatre. I thought the place was much bigger and was even more delighted with the nice, cute club in the middle of the city. As usual accompanied by an acoustic guitar, Passenger started the approximately 1-hour showcase with “Patient Love” from his hit album “Little Lights” (release: 2012), which brought him the breakthrough.

It was super hot in the club, Mike noted already at the welcome – oh yes, we were sweating. He then grinned cheekily that he actually had a fan in front of him. However, he should not let it run too strong, otherwise he would get a Bon Jovi hair-do ;).

Passenger is about to release his 10th album “Runaway” (release: 31.08.2018). Back then he started with street concerts and small clubs, with even less audience. So he always likes to play in such small clubs and was grateful for all the people, who have come.

He continued with the well-known “Life’s for the living” that was followed by “David”, a song about a homeless man. In addition to mostly older songs Passenger also presented two new songs from the upcoming album. The first song was the current single “Hell or High Water.” Second, he played “Ghost Town,” which is about the extinct residential areas of the US city of Detroit.

The hit: curse or blessing?

With his spontaneous, down-to-earth and likable nature, Passenger sings accompanied by the guitar about life and tells his stories about it. Of course, anyone who has already seen Passenger live knows him this way. Whether on a huge Gurtenfestival main stage or on this mini stage at “Düdü”, Passenger knows how to take and inspire his audience. He always seems friendly and to be the normal guy next door.

Passenger was happy about the attentive audience, who quietly listened to his words, but also gave comments at the right time. It often caused funny reactions and situations. There were always laughter from the audience in the ears. And when he asked, everybody liked to sing along too. “If you do not know the lyrics, just make something up!”, he encouraged.

Right after “Rolling Stone” his uber-hit “Let her go” followed, everyone immediately pricked their ears and cheered. That’s a new one too, he joked with some irony and hinted a little bit that such a hit can be just as curse as blessing. But if you let the audience sing on their own, it’s very nice and probably more blessings 🙂

With “Scare the dark away” Passenger concluded his short concert. But the audience cheered and sang him back on stage. After having to change his guitars in between, he laughed: “This is the third guitar in 45 minutes. So if this fails, then that’s it. ” The guitar survived, but “Dancing in the dark” by Bruce Springsteen was still the final song. 😉

Live in Switzerland

Passenger also seems to like Switzerland very much. In addition to the Caribana Festival the previous day, he will perform two more times in Switzerland this year. If you could not attend the showcase, you still have chances to see Passenger live this year:

On June 15, 2018 he is at Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg (tickets at Ticketcorner). On September 17, 2018 he on tour with his new album he comes to Volkshaus Zurich (tickets at Starticket).

You can find information about Passenger on passengermusic.com.
Information about the Energy Live Sessions on energy.ch

GALLERY

Please follow and like us:

Energy Live Session: Passenger in Bern

Ich sah mich schon fast bettelnd auf den Knien, um mir noch irgendwie ein Ticket zu ergattern. Irgendwie schien das nicht zu klappen mit dem Gewinnen. Die letzte Energy Live Session, an der ich teilnehmen konnte, war auch schon wieder über ein Jahr her und übrigens die von Max Giesinger (Lest hier). Aber am Ende gabs dann doch noch ein Happy End und ich durfte an der Energie Live Session von Passenger teilnehmen. Am Ende dieses Freitagabends erlebte ich  im Du Théâre sogar noch viel mehr als erwartet.

Man weiss ja nie

Gut, ich sehe Passenger am Stars Of Sounds und werde auch auf der Tour im Herbst an seinem Konzert in Zürich dabei sein. Ein Bisschen hatte ich ja noch auf ein Strassenkonzert  von ihm gehofft. Während den letzten Tagen hatte Passenger einige in den UK und Deutschland gespielt. Leider habe es öfters, wie bereits vor 2 Jahren in Bern, geregnet. Wart ihr in Bern dabei gewesen? Ich hatte es eben leider verpasst – Arbeit und so halt. Dass ich ihn nicht live sehen könnte, war also aber nicht das Problem. Im so kleinen Rahmen bekommt man Mike Rosenberg aka Passenger heutzutage aber eigentlich kaum noch zu hören. Umso glücklicher war ich also am Showcase teilnehmen zu können.

Direkt nach der Arbeit war ich noch zu früh vor Ort. Nachhause gehen lohnte sich nicht so wirklich und ja, man weiss ja nie, was so passieren und wem man so über den Weg laufen könnte. Es ergab sich dann super spontan und unerwartet tatsächlich für einmal eine solche “man weiss ja nie”-Situation. Ich durfte ans Meet & Greet!

Ich war so kurzfristig natürlich dann total unvorbereitet. Fotos für Autogramme noch ausdrucken hatte ich nämlich vergessen und auch die CDs waren daheim. Egal. Auf ein Hallo und einen möglichen kurzen Schwatz freute ich mich. Und dank heutiger Technik hat man ja auch immer eine Kamera dabei. 😉

Viel mehr als eben „Meet & Greet“ war es dann nicht und nur ein sehr kurzes Treffen. Schnelles Hallo für alle fünf Gewinner und schnell noch Fotos machen. Aber auch ein Autogramm lag dann noch kurz drin. Der Manager hatte zum Glück Tourkarten und Stift dabei. Ich hab ihm dann noch vom kommenden Stars Of Sounds und dessen toller Festivallokalität vorgeschwärmt. Das Wetter möge also gut sein und die Festivalveranstalter geben sich bitte Mühe, damit ich ihm da jetzt nicht zu viel versprochen habe 😉 Ob die Möglichkeit eines Strassenkonzertes besteht, konnte ich ihn leider nicht mehr fragen.

Album Nr. 10

1,5 Stunden später stand Passenger auf der kleinen Minibühne des Du Théatre. Ich hatte geglaubt, das Lokal wäre viel grösser und war umso entzückter über den schönen, herzigen Club mitten in der Stadt. Wie gewohnt nur begleitet von einer Akustikgitarre, startete Passenger das rund 1-stündige Showcase mit “Patient Love” ab seinem Erfolgsalbum “Little Lights” (VÖ: 2012), das ihm damals den Durchbruch verschaffte.

Es sei ja super heiss in dem Lokal, merkte Mike bereits bei der Begrüssung an – oh ja, wir schwitzten.  Er grinste dann aber frech, dass er eben einen Ventilator vor sich stehen habe. Den dürfe er allerdings dann doch nicht zu stark laufen lassen, sonst kriege er noch so eine Bon Jovi-Frisur 😉

Passenger steht kurz vor dem Release seines 10. Albums “Runaway” (VÖ: 31.08.2018). Er habe damals mit Strassenkonzerten und kleinen Clubs angefangen, nur mit teils weniger Zuschauern. Er spiele somit immer gerne in so kleinen Clubs und sei dankbar, für alle Zuschauer, die gekommen sind.

Er fuhr mit dem bekannten “Life’s for the living” fort und “David”, ein Lied über einen Obdachlosen, folgte. Neben vor allem älteren Lieder stellte Passenger ebenfalls zwei neue Titel ab dem kommenden Album, vor. Der erste Song war die aktuelle Single “Hell or High Water“. Als zweites spielte er “Ghost Town”, das von den ausgestorbenen Wohnvierteln der US-Stadt Detroit handelt.

Der Hit: Fluch oder Segen?

Mit seiner spontanen, bodenständigen und sympathischen Art singt Passenger von der Gitarre begleitet aus dem Leben und erzählt seine Geschichten dazu. Wer Passenger schon live gesehen hat, kennt ihn natürlich nicht anders. Ob jetzt auf einer riesigen Gurtenfestival-Hauptbühne oder auf dieser Mini Bühne im “Düdü”, Passenger weiss sein Publikum jedes Mal abzuholen und zu begeistern. Er wirkt immer freundlich und scheint so der normale Typ von nebenan zu sein.
Dabei freute Passenger sich über das aufmerksame Publikum, das still seinen Worten lauschte, aber auch mal zum richtigen Zeitpunkte einen Kommentar einwarf. Es entstanden dadurch oft lustige Reaktionen und Situationen. Man hatte immer wieder Gelächter und Kichern aus dem Publikum in den Ohren. Und wenn er danach fragte, sangen alle auch gerne mit. Wer den Text nicht kenne, erfinde einfach etwas, ermutigte er.

Gleich nach “Rolling Stone” folgte sein Überhit „Let her go“, bei dem sofort alle aufhorchten und jubelten. Das sei auch ein neuer, scherzte er mit etwas Ironie und deutete auch ein wenig an, dass so ein Hit genau so Fluch wie Segen sein kann. Wenn man dann aber das Publikum alleine singen lassen kann, ist es halt schon sehr schön und wohl doch mehr Segen 🙂

Mit “Scare the dark away” schloss Passenger sein kurzes Konzert ab. Das Publikum jubelte und sang ihn aber zurück auf die Bühne. Nach dem er seine Gitarren dazwischen mal wechseln musste, lachte er: “Das ist jetzt die dritte Gitarre in 45 Minuten. Also wenn die jetzt auch noch aussteigt, dann war es das endgültig”. Die Gitarre überstand es, aber “Dancing in the dark” von Bruce Springsteen war trotzdem endgültig der letzte Song. 😉

Live in der Schweiz

Auch Passenger scheint die Schweiz sehr zu mögen. Neben dem Caribana Festival am Tag davor, wird er dieses Jahr noch zwei weitere Mal in der Schweiz auftreten. Wer nicht am Showcase dabei sein konnte, hat dieses Jahr also noch Chancen Passenger live zu sehen:

Am 15. Juni 2018 ist er am Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg (Tickets bei Ticketcorner). Am 17. September 2018 kommt er auf Tour mit seinem neuen Album auch ins Volkshaus Zürich (Tickets bei Starticket).

Infos zu Passenger findet ihr auf passengermusic.com.
Infos zu den Energy Live Sessions auf energy.ch

 

GALLERY

Please follow and like us: