Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019: Hit after hit, relaxed beats and cool riffs

Marius Bear stepped onto the stage, slipped out of his shoes, and, as always, put them neatly in front of him. He set off for the sentimental “New York”. The Appenzell singer/songwriter and his band opened the 2nd festival evening of the 11th Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg. It was just a moment before that we feared they would have to play in front of the more or less empty place. But then all the concert-goers crawled out of their shelters and didn’t let the pouring rain spoil their mood. Well, the Migros-Mischtwätter rain capes certainly helped.

Dancing to Crimer and Gentleman

On Friday the festival started into the 11th round and we already danced to Crimer, Gentleman and Parov Stelar through the warm summer evening. That means, we were welcomed on this Friday evening with super tasty salmon cheese tartes and drinks. But we also decided to let Crimer’s crazy 80s pop and Gentleman’s Reggea beats sweep us away at the front of the stage. His fellow musicians also shone solo on the keys or strings.

Gentleman’s band and background singers also had their solo parts. Gentleman himself loved to seek the closeness of the audience. In the course of the evening he even took a bath in the crowd for “Dem Gone” and “Superior”. We almost thought he wouldn’t return to the stage anymore.

But we missed Parov Stelar because we went home early. But I read that the electro-swing group went just as wild as they did during the 3-4 songs I had heard at the Stars Of Sounds in Murten four years ago.

Aarberg defied the rain for Marius Bear

Saturday night the weather god was not so much on our side. While concerts and festivals had to be interrupted in many places (Greenfield in Interlaken was evacuated for a short time), Aarberg was still quite lucky. The thunderstorm passed over the town before the show started and apparently had not caused any major damage. The music program started wet, but in time…

Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019

The audience defied the pouring rain for Marius Bear. While it was pouring out of buckets, the band not only played “Sanity” but also other songs from the same named Ep. His rough, scratchy voice Marius immediately captivated the audience. But not only with his own songs but also with the Black Keys cover “Lonely Boy” he provided goose bumps. Even without the band at times, just with his guitar. Just like back then when he started his musical career as a street musician.

(Photo gallery: Marius Bear at Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019)

At that time he had sung in dialect several times besides the English songs. So at Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg he thrilled additionally with the only dialect song “Momou”. He had written this inspired by his grandma.

Marius Bear finished the rather quiet concert with a lot of drive and let the town dance to “Roots” and “Blood That My Heart Beats”.

Pegasus’ only festival show

The rain had faded a little. Behind the stage there was some blue sky. Didn’t look bad already! A colleague had already been sure about it: She had never seen a Pegasus show in the rain before. Okay, I couldn’t remember that exactly myself. But Pegasus started their home show with the thrilling “Symptoms” right after the break. And their only festival show this summer was WITHOUT rain. Ha! Quickly hoods were lowered again or rain jackets were taken off completely. It was supposed to get hot that evening.

(Photo gallery: Pegasus at Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019)

They continued with “Fragments” before the first 2-3 tunes of “Rise Up” made the audience cheer and the first hit followed. It’s Pegasus 3rd time at the Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg. The last time they were here was in 2015 on the festival stage (read here). The difference to back then? Maybe a little less stage fright. The band seemed to be much more relaxed and in the best mood. This immediately spread to the audience and the atmosphere in Aarberg’s town was great. This went directly to the fan’s heart! Yes, at the moment it is rather quiet around Pegasus. The program probably known to most. Do you think they are working on something new? Their fans hope for it.

After the more relaxed “God Knows”, Brenner heated up with his drumsolo and they continued no less energetically with “Technology”. Happy that the rain had stopped, Noah joked: “But the weather radar hadn’t predicted that it would drip from the roof!” But hardly anyone could be disturbed by the few drops, when the Biel guys continued to power with “Digital Kids”.

Pegasus at Stars Of Sounds Aarberg

With “Get Over You” it became calmer again. It’s a song for the couples on the festival grounds, during which they can hold each other in their arms. Whereby, the singles just have to hold themselves… During the song Noah, Gabriel and Stefan jumped into the audience and made their way to the middle of the square. With only two guitars and a ring of bells they played “Man On Mars” in a great acoustic version. As always Noah stayed in the audience while the other two returned to the stage. Noah turned to the VIPs and started “Skyline”. After the first lines he handed over to his two band mates, to hurry back to the stage and finish the song with the whole band.

Of course, no one let Pegasus go without an encore. Before they became wild again with “Last Night On Earth” and bass player Gäbu let the whole place jump, he sat down with Noah on the keyboard and enchanted Aarberg with my absolute favourite “Metropolitans” (I’m still waiting for the release of this live version, aren’t you?)

With their hit “I Take It All” Pegasus ended the evening to hand over to The BossHoss.

It got hot with the Berlin cowboys

The backing band began with an extensive intro before the Berlin cowboys, front men Sascha Vollmer and Alec Völkel, also joined. In 2005 The BossHoss performed in Switzerland for the first time and have played countless shows since then. In 2013 also at Thun Arena, where I had seen them for the first and so far only time. Yes, and 8 albums later they were on stage in Aarberg. Longtime fans will surely confirm: They are still as cool and likeable as they were back then.

(Photo gallery: The BossHoss at Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019)

If you didn’t know The BossHoss through their wild country rock’n’roll shows, you might have got to know them in the last years at several The Voice shows (currently at the 2nd season of The Voice Senior) or at VOX’s “Sing meine Song”. Visibly enchanted by the great scenery and impressed by the Pegasus show, The BossHoss turned the place into a beautiful sea of lights several times during the course of the evening. But before that, the 7 member band first changed from the intro to the current album title song “Black is beautiful” and really cheered everyone on.

With cool riffs, fast beats, but also their funky brass trio the Tijuana Wonderbrass they gave everything from beginning to end. Although Sascha held back a bit, Alec was the total showman. He heated up the stage, cheered on his fellow musicians during the solos and jumped into the pit several times. He rocked to “I keep on dancing”, “Hey ya” or “AYO” in a black, then in a black and white leather jacket before he took it off. They asked if we were cold and brought Natalie from the audience on stage during “Hot in Here”. She certainly wasn’t cold anymore – us neither by the way.

The BossHoss also played “Little Help”. The song was recorded by Alec and Sascha with their The Voice-Kids Mimi and Josy. But they were not there and of course already in bed at that time.

With “Polk Salade Annie” followed a song about lettuce, with “Dos-Bros” they also forced the very last in the audience to their knees and at the latest with Dolly Parton’s “Jolene” really everyone sang along.

The highlight of the BossHoss concert came with the final: The band brought several girls on stage, while they really hit it again for “Word up”. The drummer was poured over with a few beers to create some extra special effects. A great mix between cool rock and likeable countrypop show ended. The BossHoss released the Stars Of Sounds audience into the night with “Stallion Battalion”.

In Murten they continue with a great programme

Many other musicians and bands can also be found at openairs. On 5 July 2019 the Stars Of Sounds programme will continue in Murten. Besides international stars like Fantastischen Vier, Rag’n’Bone Man, Rea Garvey and Michael Patrick Kelly, Swiss acts like Halunke, The Gardener & The Tree, Stefanie Heinzmann or Lo & Leduc will be at the shores of Lake Murten. Unfortunately without me, because on the same weekend the Irish Boyand Westlife will celebrate their comeback in Dublin.  Somehow breaks my heart not to be there. So please sing along and celebrate the great programme for me!

The complete programme and all information about the festival can be found at www.starsofsounds.ch.
Tickets are available at Ticketcorner

Information about the bands can be found here:

www.crimer.ch
www.gentleman-music.com
www.parovstelar.com

www.mariusbear.com
www.pegasustheband.com
www.thebosshoss.com

Please follow and like us:
error

Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019: Hit um Hit relaxte Beats und coole Riffs

Marius Bear betrat die Bühne, schlüpfte aus seinen Schuhen, stellte sie wie immer ordentlich vor sich hin. Er legte zum gefühlvollen „New York“ los. Der Appenzeller Singer/Songwriter und seine Band eröffneten damit den 2. Festivalabend des 11. Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg. Nur einen Moment davor hatten wir befürchtet, dass sie vor dem mehr oder weniger leeren Platz spielen müssten. Aber da kamen die ganzen Konzertbesucher zahlreich aus ihren Schutzlöchern gekrochen und liessen sich vom strömenden Regen die Stimmung nicht verderben. Gut, die Migros-Mischtwätter-Pelerinen halfen sicher dabei.

Tanzen zu Crimer & Gentleman

Am Freitag war das Festival in die 11. Runde gestartet und wir tanzten bereits zu Crimer, Gentleman und Parov Stelar durch den lauen Sommerabend. Das heisst, wir liessen uns an diesem Freitagabend erst Mal mit super leckeren Lachs-Käse-Küchlein und Drinks willkommen heissen. Entschieden dann aber doch auch, uns von Crimer‘s crazy 80s-Pop und Gentleman‘s Reggea-Beats ganz vorn an der Bühne mitreissen zu lassen. Dabei glänzten auch seine Mitmusiker mal solo an den Tasten oder Saiten.

Auch Gentleman’s Band und Background-Sängerinnen hatten ihre Solo-Einsätze. Gentleman selbst liebte es, immer mal wieder die Nähe des Publikums zu suchen. Er nahm im Verlaufe des Abends zu “Dem Gone” und “Superior” sogar ein ausgiebiges Bad in der Menge. Wir dachten ja schon fast, er komme gar nicht mehr auf die Bühne zurück.

Parov Stelar hatten wir hingegen verpasst, weil es dann doch vorzeitig nach Hause ging. Ich hab aber gelesen, dass die Electroswing-Truppe genau so abging wie während der 3-4 Songs, die ich vor vier Jahren am Stars Of Sounds in Murten mitgekriegt hatte.

Aarberg trotzte für Marius Bear dem Regen

Samstagabend war der Wettergott nicht ganz so sehr auf unserer Seite. Mussten vielerorts Konzerte und Festivals unterbrochen werden (das Greenfield in Interlaken wurde etwa kurzzeitig evakuiert), hatte Aarberg dennoch ziemliches Glück. Das Gewitter zog noch vor Showstart über das Städtchen hinweg und hatte offenbar keine grösseren Schäden verursacht. Das Musikprogramm startete zwar nass, aber pünktlich…

Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019

Das Publikum trotzte dabei für Marius Bear dem strömenden Regen. Während es wie aus Kübeln schüttete, spielten die Band nicht nur “Sanity” sondern auch weitere Lieder ab der gleichnamigen EP. Mit seiner rauen, kratzigen Stimme zog Marius das Publikum sofort in seinen Bann. Aber nicht nur mit eigenen Songs sondern auch mit dem Black Keys Cover “Lonely Boy” sorgte er für Gänsehautmomente. Auch mal ganz ohne Band, nur mit seiner Gitarre. So wie damals, als er seine Musikerkarriere als Strassenmusiker gestartet hatte.

(Bildstrecken: Marius Bear am Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019)

Damals hatte er neben den englischen Songs öfters auch mal in Mundart gesungen. So begeisterte er am Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg zusätzlich mit dem einzigen Mundartlied “Momou”. Das hatte er inspiriert von seiner Oma geschrieben.

Das eher ruhige Konzert beendete Marius Bear schliesslich mit viel Schwung und liess das Stedltli zum Abschluss zu “Roots” und “Blood That My Heart Beats” nochmals richtig tanzen.

Pegasus einzige Festival Show

Der Regen hatte etwas nachgelassen. Hinter der Bühne zeigte sich bereits etwas blauer Himmel. Sah schon mal nicht schlecht aus! Eine Kollegin war sich ja schon davor sicher gewesen: Sie habe noch nie eine Pegasus Show bei Regen gesehen. Okay, daran konnte ich mich selber nicht so genau erinnern. Aber Pegasus starteten pünktlich nach der Umbaupause ihr Heimspiel mit dem mitreissenden “Symptoms”. Und ihre einzige Festivalshow dieses Sommers kam dabei ganz OHNE Regen aus. Ha! Schnell wurden Kapuzen wieder runtergelassen oder Regenjacken gleich ganz ausgezogen. Es sollte an dem Abend noch heiss werden. 

(Bildstrecken: Pegasus am Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019)

Mit „Fragments“ ging es weiter, bevor bereits die ersten 2-3 Töne von „Rise Up“ das Publikum jubeln liess und ein erster Hit folgte. Es ist Pegasus 3. Mal am Stars Of Sounds in Aarberg. Zuletzt standen sie 2015 hier auf der Festivalbühne (Lest hier). Der Unterschied zu damals? Möglicherweise etwas weniger Lampenfieber. Die Band schien viel lockerer und absolut bestens gelaunt. Das übertrug sich sofort aufs Publikum und die Stimmung im Aarberger Stedtli war grossartig. Da ging einem echt das Fanherz auf! Ja, es ist zurzeit eher ruhig um Pegasus. Das Programm den meisten wahrscheinlich bekannt. Ob sie wohl an was neuem Arbbeiten? Ihre Fans hoffen auf jeden Fall darauf. 

Nach dem etwas relaxteren „God Knows“, heizte Brenner mit seinem Drumsolo ein und sie fuhren nicht weniger energischmit „Technology“ fort. Glücklich darüber, dass der Regen aufgehört hatte, scherzte Noah: “Dass es vom Dach tropfen würde, hatte der Wetterradar allerdings nicht vorausgesagt!” Aber von den paar Tropfen liess sich ja kaum wer stören, als die Bieler mit „Digital Kids“ weiter powerten. 

Mit „Get Over You“ wurde es erneut ruhiger. Es sei ein Song für die Pärchen auf dem Festivalgelände, zudem sie sich in den Armen halten können. Wobei, die Singles müssten sich halt selbst halten… Noch während des Lieds sprangen Noah, Gabriel und Stefan zu dritt ins Publikum und schlängelten sich zur Mitte des Platzes. Mit nur zwei Gitarren und einem Schellenring gabs „Man On Mars“ in einer tollen Akustikversion. Wie immer blieb Noah im Publikum, während die anderen beiden zur Bühne zurückkehrten. Noah wandte sich dabei den VIPs zu und stimmte “Skyline” an. Er übergab nach den ersten Zeilen dann kurz seinen beiden Bandkollegen zum Drumbattle, um selbst zurück zur Bühne zu eilen und den Song mit der kompletten Band zu beenden.

Natürlich liess keiner Pegasus ohne Zugabe gehen. Bevor es mit “Last Night On Earth” nochmals richtig wild wurde und Bassist Gäbu den ganzen Platz springen liess, setzte er sich mit Noah ans Keyboard und verzauberte Aarberg mit meinem absoluten Favoriten “Metropolitans” (Ich warte ja immer noch auf die Veröffentlichung dieser Live-Version… ihr nicht auch?)

Mit “I Take It All” beendeten Pegasus den Abend, um an The BossHoss zu übergeben. 

Mit den Berliner Cowboys wurde es heiss 

Beginnen tat die Backing-Band mit einem ausgiebigen Intro, bevor die Berliner Cowboys, Frontmänner Sascha Vollmer und Alec Völkel, ebenfalls dazu kamen. 2005 sind The BossHoss zum ersten Mal in der Schweiz aufgetreten und haben bei uns seither unzählige Shows gespielt. Unter anderem auch 2013 in der Thun Arena, wo ich sie zum ersten und bisher einzigsten Mal gesehen hatte. Ja, und 8 Alben später standen sie nun in Aarberg auf der Bühne. Langjährige Fans werden es bestimmt bestätigen: Sie sind immer noch so cool und sympathisch wie damals. 

(Bildstrecken: The BossHoss am Stars Of Sounds Aarberg 2019)

Wer The BossHoss durch ihre wilden Country-Rock’n’Roll-Shows noch nicht kannte, hatte die beiden Frontmänner möglicherweise in den letzten Jahren bei diversen The Voice Shows (zur Zeit bei der 2. Staffel von The Voice Senior) oder bei VOX’s “Sing meinen Song” kennengelernt. Sichtlich verzaubert von der tollen Kulisse und beeindruckt von der Pegasus-Show, verwandelten The BossHoss im Verlaufe des Abends den Platz ebenfalls mehrfach in ein wunderschönes Lichtermeer. Aber davor ging die 7-köpfige Band vom Intro her erstmal in den aktuellen Albumtitel Song „Black is beautiful“ über und trieben alle richtig an.

Sie gaben mit coolen Riffs, schnellen Beats, aber auch ihrem funky Bläser-Trio den Tijuana Wonderbrass von Beginn bis zum Schluss Vollgas. Hielt sich Sascha zwar eher etwas zurück, gab Alec dafür umso mehr den totalen Showman. Er heizte über die Bühne, feuerte seine Mitmusiker bei den Soli an und sprang öfters in den Graben. Mal in schwarzer , dann in schwarz-weisser Lederjacke rockte er zu „I keep on dancing“, „Hey ya“ oder “AYO”. Ob uns denn kalt sei, fragten sie und holten während „Hot in Here“ Natalie aus dem Publikum auf die Bühne. Kalt war ihr da dann bestimmt nicht mehr – uns übrigens auch nicht.

The BossHoss gaben etwa auch “Little Help” zum Besten. Den Song hatten Alec und Sascha mit ihren The Voice-Kids Mimi und Josy aufgenommen. Die beiden seien aber nicht da und natürlich um die Zeit schon im Bett. 

Mit “Polk Salade Annie” folgte ein Song über Kopfsalat, bei “Dos-Bros” zwangen sie auch den Hintersten und Letzten im Publikum in die Knie und spätestens bei Dolly Parton’s “Jolene” sangen wirklich alle mit.

Der Höhepunkt des BossHoss-Konzerts kam zum Finale: Die Band holte mehrere Girls auf die Bühne, während sie zu “Word up” nochmals richtig draufhauten. Dem Drummer wurde dabei gleich mal ein paar Bier drüber geschüttet, um ein paar extra Specialeffects zu erzeugen. Ein toller Mix zwischen cooler Rock- und sympathischer Country-Show endete. The BossHoss entliess das Stars Of Sounds-Publikum mit “Stallion Battalion” in die Nacht. 

In Murten gehts mit tollem Programm weiter

Viele andere Musiker und Bands findet man ebenfalls bei den Openairs. So geht es am 5. Juli 2019 auch mit einem tollen Stars Of Sounds Programm in Murten weiter. Neben internationalen Stars wie die Fantastischen Vier, Rag’n’Bone Man, Rea Garvey und Michael Patrick Kelly, werden Schweizer Acts wie Halunke, The Gardener & The Tree, Stefanie Heinzmann oder Lo & Leduc am Ufer des Murtensees dabei sein. Leider ohne mich, weil am selben Wochenende die irische Boyand Westlife in Dublin Comeback feiern werden.  Es bricht mir etwas das Herz nicht dabei zu sein. Also, singt und feiert das tolle Programm bitte für mich mit!

Das komplette Programm und alle Infos zum Festival findet ihr unter www.starsofsounds.ch.
Tickets gibts bei Ticketcorner

Infos zu den Bands findet ihr hier:

www.crimer.ch
www.gentleman-music.com
www.parovstelar.com

www.mariusbear.com
www.pegasustheband.com
www.thebosshoss.com

Please follow and like us:
error