Swiss Live Talents Award 2017

This weekend the 3rd Swiss Live Talents took place in Bern to which the Music Marathon (MUMA) was added this year (read about the concerts here). As a supporter of Swiss music I of course was very curious about the whole weekend and especially about the newcomers at the award ceremony. I admit though, I barely knew anyone of these artists.

Swiss Live Talents

So on Saturday evening, ahead of the MUMA concerts, the Swiss Live Talents award show took place in Bern, at Turnhalle. With the Swiss talents platform Swiss newcomers are getting systematically supported. With the participation at the event newcomer bands and musician get the chance to be discovered nationally and internationally, to become better known as well as the chance to get gigs booked.

Out of more than 600 applicants, 5 were nominated for the awards in 7 categories. This in the categories “Pop Indie Folk Songwriting”, “Rock Metal”, “Best Emerging Talent”, “National Language”, “Urban Hip-Hop Groove Reggae”, “Electro Dance” and “Best Live Act”. Besides the “Foundation Suisa Award” and the “Public Award” have been awarded.

The Award Show

And how does such an award show work? Actually not any different from the award shows on TV. During about 2 hours the moderators Gisela Feuz and Mik Clavet lead through the evening in a very entertaining way. On the one side in German, on the other one in French and with the attempt to overcome the Roestigraben. 😉 The whole then mixed with English, because Ticino and other international guests were attending. Somehow one understood each other in the end 😉

Various national and international speakers announced the nominees and winners of altogether 9 awards.

Veronica Fusaro opened the event musically and in-between the whole show various live acts presented themselves. Next to her the live acts were Odd Beholder, WUGS, KT Gorique, Gina Estrada and La Nefera. Some of them were even award winners. Except of Veronica Fusaro I didn’t know any of the live acts. Well, most of their music I didn’t like that much, but of some of them I still was impressed and found them cool.

The winners

With the Foundation Suisa Award the first award went to Fai Baba, which honors songwriting. Fai Baba are Fabian Sigmund and his band. The psych-rock band was founded in 2006. Even I’ve heard the name x-times before and last year they have released their 5th album already, I don’t know them any further.

In the category Pop Indie Folk Songwriting Odd Beholder won. Odd Beholder are Zurich pop duo James Varghese and Daniela Weinmann, that was founded in 2013. They play dream pop. So rather quiet songs. The two of them were one of the live acts.

The Rock Metal Award was won by The Last Moan. The Last Moan is an in 2014 founded rock duo – Gaëten on drums and Igor on guitar. Their first album “Zig Zag Dream” was released at the beginning of the year. It contains rhythmic bluesy rock songs.

As Best Emerging Talent Long Tall Jefferson was chosen. The Luzern musician Simon Borer, also member of Pablo Nouvelle, is touring with his debut album “I want my honey back” through Europe and that’s why he wasn’t able to take the award personally. I’ve seen him as a support of Tom James about a year ago. In singer/songwriter style with an acoustic guitar the songs are rather calm. I though couldn’t really get into his music so far.

Top dog of the evening was KT Gorique. She wasn’t only nominated in the categories National Language, Urban Hip-Hop Groove Reggae and for the public award, she even won the National Language and Public awards.

The young rapper is also a dancer as well as an actor and was born at Ivory Coast. She’s living in Switzerland since the age of 12 and grew up in Martigny. 2012 she became Swiss champion in the category freestyle at End Of Weak, the most important competition for rap improvisation. She took part in the world championship in New York and became the first ever female End Of The Weak champion. 2016 she released her first album.

She was also one of the live acts of this evening. With the energy she was standing on stage, sure quite something was going on at her concert later in the evening.

The award in category Urban Hip-Hop Groove Reggae was given to Koqa Beatbox. Koqa Beatbox are Arthur Henry (voc/beat boxing), Felix Fivaz (drums) und Paul Butscher (Flugelhorn). They are touring together since 2013, mixing hip hop and electronical music with jazz, folk and dubstep.

WUGS got the Electro Dance award . WUGS is short for “What U Gonna Say?”. They are a Genevan trio of two DJs and a singer. They showed a short, but very energetic and impressive performance. I thought the trio was pretty cool. Especially their singer got a super voice and seems to be a real power woman.

The last award as Best Live Act went to Zeal & Ardor. Zeal & Ardor is a project of Basel musician Manuel Ganeux in the metal genre, he and his band are successfully touring Europe with. Except of their video for “Devil is fine” [that I quite like and you can watch here], a mix of gospel and black metal, I don’t know the group so far.

Overall an exciting event

It was an entertaining and interesting award show. I can barely judge though whether I would have given away the awards to the same ones, because I just don’t know most of them.

About the nominees you can get informed on www.swisslivetalents.ch 😉

I haven’t really discovered anything new for me during the show. A lot seemed very electronical (somehow that’s the trend 2017). But at least I became curious about KT Gorique and WUGS.

My highlight of the award show were actually the presenters, who lead through the show in a great way. Together with MUMA it’s overall sure an interesting event though. We’ll see how it will be at the next event in two years.

Please follow and like us:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Swiss Live Talents Award 2017

An diesem Wochenende fand in Bern der 3. Swiss Live Talents statt, der dieses Jahr um den Music Marathon (MUMA) erweitert wurde (lest über die Konzerte hier). Als Supporter von Schweizer Musik war ich natürlich sehr gespannt auf das ganze Wochenende und vor allem auch auf die ganzen Newcomer an der Award-Verleihung.  Zugegeben, ich kannte noch kaum jemanden dieser Künstler .

Swiss Live Talents

Am Samstagabend fand vor den Konzerten  des MUMA eben die Swiss Live Talents Award Show in Bern, in der Turnhalle, statt. Mit der Swiss Talents-Plattform soll der Schweizer Nachwuchs gezielt gefördert werden. Durch die Teilnahme am Event erhalten Newcomer-Bands und Musiker die Chance, im In- und Ausland entdeckt und bekannter zu werden sowie die Chance sich Auftrittsmöglichkeiten zu verschaffen.

Aus über 600 Bewerbern wurden schliesslich in 7 Kategorien je 5 für die Awards nominiert. Das in den Kategorien “Pop Indie Folk Songwriting”, “Rockmetal”, “Best Emerging Talent”, “National Language”, “Urban Hip-Hop Groove Reggae”, “Electro Dance” und “Best Live Act”. Ausserdem wurden der “Fondation Suisa Award” und der “Public Award” vergeben.

Die Award Show

Und wie läuft eine solche Award-Show ab? Eigentlich nicht anders als die grossen Award-Shows, die man so aus dem TV kennt. Während rund 2 Stunden führte das Moderatoren-Paar Gisela Feuz und Mik Clavet bestens unterhaltend durch den Abend. Einerseits in Deutsch, andererseits in Französisch und mit dem Versuch den Röstigraben zu überwinden. 😉 Das Ganze dann noch gemixt mit Englisch, weil eben auch das Tessin und internationale Gäste vor Ort waren. Irgendwie verstand man sich am Ende 😉

Diverse Laudatoren aus dem In- und Ausland verkündeten die Nominierten und Gewinner der insgesamt 9 Awards.

Veronica Fusaro eröffnete den Event musikalisch und dazwischen präsentierten sich während der ganzen Show diverse Live Acts. Die Live Acts waren neben ihr Odd Beholder, WUGS, KT Gorique, Gina Estrada und La Nefera. Manche von ihnen waren sogar Award-Gewinner. Bis auf Veronica Fusaro kannte ich niemanden der Live-Acts. Naja, die Musik der wenigsten hat mir wirklich gefallen, aber von einigen war ich trotzdem beeindruckt und fand sie cool.

Die Gewinner

Die erste Auszeichnung holten sich Fai Baba mit dem Foundation Suisa Award, welcher das Songwriting auszeichnet. Fai Baba sind Fabian Sigmund und seine Band. Die Psych-Rockband wurde 2006 gegründet. Obwohl ich den Namen schon x-Mal gehört hab und sie letztes Jahr bereits das fünfte  Album veröffentlicht haben, kenn ich sie nicht weiter.

In der Kategorie Pop Indie Folk Songwriting gewannen Odd Beholder. Odd Beholder sind das Zürcher Popduo James Varghese und Daniela Weinman, das 2013 gegründet wurde. Sie spielen Dreampop. Die beiden waren einer der Live Acts der Show.

Den Rock Metal Award gewannen The Last Moan. The Last Moan sind ein im 2014 gegründetes Rockduo – Gaëtan am Schlagzeug und Igor an der Gitarre. Ihr erstes Album “Zig Zag Dream” veröffentlichten sie Anfangs Jahr. Es enthält rhythmisch bluesige Rocksongs.

Zum Best Emerging Talent wurde Long Tall Jefferson gewählt. Der Luzerner Musiker Simon Borer, auch Bandmitglied bei Pablo Nouvelle, tourt mit seinem Debutalbum “I want my honey back” durch ganz Europa und war an diesem Abend deshalb auch nicht anwesend, um die Auszeichnung persönlich entgegen zu nehmen. Ich hab ihn vor rund einem Jahr als Support von Tom James gehört. Im Singer/Songwriter-Stil mit einer Akustikgitarre sind die Songs ziemlich ruhig. Ich selber konnte mich allerdings bisher nicht so für seine Musik begeistern.

Abräumerin des Abends war KT Gorique. Sie war nicht nur in den Kategorien National Language, Urban Hip-Hop Groove Reggae und für den Public Award nominiert, sie gewann die National Language und Public Awards dann auch.

Die junge Rapperin ist auch Tänzerin sowie Schauspielerin und wurde an der Elfenbeinküste geboren. Sie lebt seit ihrem 12. Lebensjahr in der Schweiz und wuchs in Martigny auf. 2012 wurde sie Schweizer Meisterin in der Kategorie Freestyle am End Of the Weak, dem wichtigsten Wettbewerb für Rap-Improvisation. Sie nahm an den Weltmeisterschaften in New York teil und wurde als erste Frau überhaupt End Of the Weak-Weltmeisterin. 2016 veröffentlichte sie ihr erstes Album.

Sie war ebenfalls einer der Live-Acts an dem Abend. Mit so viel Energie, wie sie da auf der Award Bühne stand, war später am Abend bestimmt an ihrem Konzert so einiges los.

Den Award in der Kategorie Urban Hip-Hop Groove Reggae kriegten Koqa Beatbox. Koqa Beatbox sind Arthur Henry (Gesang/Beatboxing), Felix Fivaz (Schlagzeug) und Paul Butscher (Flügelhorn). Sie sind seit 2013 zusammen unterwegs, mixen Hip Hop und elektronische Musik mit Jazz, Folk und Dubstep.

Den Electro Dance Award gab es für WUGS. WUGS steht für “What U Gonna Say?”. Sie sind ein Genfer Trio aus zwei DJs und einer Sängerin. Sie legten einen kurzen, aber sehr energischen und eindrücklichen Auftritt hin. Das Trio fand ich ziemlich cool. Vor allem ihre Sängerin hat eine super Stimme und scheint eine richtige Powerfrau zu sein.

Den letzten Award, als Best Live Act, erhielten Zeal & Ardor. Zeal & Ardor ist ein Projekt des Baslers Manuel Ganeux im Metal-Bereich, womit er und seine Band erfolgreich in Europa unterwegs sind. Bis aufs Video von “Devil is fine” [das ich ziemlich cool find und ihr hier sehen könnt], eine Mischung aus Gospel und Black Metal, kenne ich die Gruppe bisher nicht.

Insgesamt ein spannender Event

Es war eine unterhaltsame und interessante Award Show. Ich kann zwar schlecht beurteilen, ob ich die ganzen Awards auch so verteilt hätte, weil ich eben die meisten halt auch nicht kenne.

Über die ganzen Nominierten könnt ihr euch genauer auf www.swisslivetalents.ch informieren ;)

Ich hab an der Show jetzt nicht unbedingt viel neues für mich entdeckt. Vieles schien sehr elektronisch (ist ja irgendwie so der Trend 2017).  Aber ich wurde zumindest auch neugierig auf KT Gorique und WUGS.

Mein Highlight der Awardshow waren eigentlich am Ende die Moderatoren, die so toll durch die Show geführt haben. Zusammen mit der MUMA ist es insgesamt auf jeden Fall ein spannender Event. Mal sehen, wie es in zwei Jahren beim nächsten Event aussieht.

Please follow and like us:

Hinterlasse jetzt einen Kommentar

Kommentar hinterlassen

E-Mail Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


*