Swiss Live Talents: MUMA 2017

At the weekend the 3rd Swiss Live Talents took place in Bern, that was completed this year with the Music Marathon. And I could be part of it. As a supporter of Swiss music I of course was curious about this weekend even I haven’t visited everything planned in the end.

Music Marathon

Swiss Live Talents Awards are organised by SwissAmp every 2 years. The event is bringing artists, media, concert organisers and judges of music professionals together. Now this event was completed by the Music Marathon – shortly MUMA. During 2 days 40 bands and musician from 7 categories were performing in six different clubs. Next to it, the winners of each category were priced in an award ceremony through an international jury and the additional “Public” as well as “Foundation Suisa” awards were granted.

On Saturday, next to the award ceremony, workshops and panels took place too to which I unfortunately didn’t make it. I actually didn’t really have the energy for such an event on this weekend, but I still went. And the main thing was the concerts of course. With such a big choice of even to me mostly unknown bands and musicians, it wasn’t that easy to decide what to go to listen.

Well, the locations are all close to each other, so you simply could have seen parts of the shows. But eww, that would have been rather exhausting. 😉 Besides many concerts were taking place rather late. To have an all-night-party was, at least on this weekend, no option 😉

I went to see four acts – two known and two new ones.

The concerts

On Friday Make Plain and John Gailo were playing at ISC Club as well as The Souls at Dachstock. Usually I forgo Reitschule. Generally I think it’s quite annoying there and I don’t feel too comfortable. Even there are really great concert locations in there. Especially Dachstock is super nice. The Souls of course were a MUST. I can’t go to an event and not see their concert there. Just not possible 😉

The Sows took about 45-60 mins each. So they were rather showcases than complete concerts.

Make Plain

My Friday evening first started with the Ticino duo Make Plain. Make Plain are Luca and Andrea. One played the keys, guitar, cajon and drums, the other one acoustic and e-guitar. They started making music together in 2011 and since have released 2 albums – their debut album “Make It Plain” in 2013 and “Side Street” in 2016. Their songs are in the genres folk, country and blues.

The two of them mainly played covers as “Waggon Wheel” by Bob Dylan, “Lady d’Arbanville” by Cat Stevens or also the wonderful instrumental version of “Amazing Grace”. I admit I didn’t know most of the songs… so if there were some own ones among the few songs, I honestly can’t tell. Haven’t really found out yet.

Nevertheless it was nice to listen to them. I especially liked the folky songs a lot.

John Gailo

John Gailo were very different. John Gailo are a 4 member rock band from Zurich. They already arrived in a very colorful band bus. With Leopard print leggings, golden shoes and white masks the band already looked especially interesting.

I knew about the band through their guitar player, I also know from Zibbz and Tobey Lucas and is also playing with Eluveitie. Though the single members weren’t really introduced by name, but each one just by John Gailo. Obviously none should know them 😉

… um, wait, have I mentioned too much already…?

Never mind, more important is the music.

I first weren’t sure, if I’d like them. On youtube I tended to it though. And yes, live it was even better. I though they are really cool. They not only have a woman in the front, who’s a really great singer, but I liked their song generally. John Gailo totally rocked, even you wouldn’t tell by the very restrained audience.

Yes, the whole event was maybe not exactly the way I was expecting it. The atmosphere etc didn’t really always match very well. Maybe I had the Honky Tonk too much in mind… well, shortly before John Gailo’s concert ended, I was off to Dachstock, where The Souls performed.

The Souls

Yes, Thun Band knowingly is one of my favourites and I of course couldn’t go to MUMA without seeing them. Because of them I actually knew about the event.

After I met a band member telling me, that they didn’t play well, it was obviously not just me that the concert of this evening wasn’t electrifying as much as before. But it really wasn’t that bad. 😉

With the EP release of 2015 in mind the expectations about the concert were maybe too high. It just can’t be topped. And somehow not too many known faces were in the audience. Next to the usual setslist as “Live” and the actual single “Move On”, to my joy they played “Run Baby Run”. And yes, I know the problem with bands preferably not wanting to play certain songs anymore…

ALL XS

After them ALL X were standing on stage. I honestly was only listening to them, because I was waiting for the night bus. The Bernese foursome isn’t my thing at all. They were too electronically and too monotone. I don’t know, I am sure very sensitive and picky about this 😉 Well, they just seemed to be a typical aftershow party act. Many electro and dancing fans seemed to have fun though.

Veronica Fusaro

I perferred Veronica Fusaro on Saturday evening a lot more. She was standing all alone on the big Dachstock stage with guitar, loop station and synthies, thrilling the audience with them and her voice. I like her and her pop songs. Though I indeed would like to see her with full band again. On her setlist of course were her new single “Better If I Go”. I especially loved her version of “Wayfaring stranger” on this evening again.

OneSentence.Supervisor

OneSentence.Supervisor performed directly after Veronica Fusaro downstairs at Rössli. Just from Dachstock down the stairs and you were already standing at the concert. Even before Veronica’s concert had ended, it was blaring from downstairs (very annoying!). Were people at Dachstock (about 800 person capacity) quite loosely, there was barely any getting through. They should have swapped the stages?!

If you were standing in the very back, you only could hear the blaring bass. I knew the Baden popband already and didn’t mean to go and listen to them, but tastes can change. But this way I couldn’t find out whether I might like them now.

Expectaions and MUMA favourite

My expectations of this music marathon weren’t exactly fullfilled. The seen concerts were mostly good and it was especially fun to see new bands. It definitively works and John Gailo were my favourite therefor. The vibes were mostly not very good though. And in the audience there often was too much talking. What’s making a big difference at a concert. But these were only a handfull of all the concerts. So still I can imagine to go again the next time – especially for discovering new bands.

As mentioned, the next Swiss Live Talents event is only taking part in two years. Until then still keep your ears open 😉

Infos about the music marathon you can find on swisslivetalents.ch

Bands:
Make Plain auf Facebook
www.johngailo.com
www.thesouls.ch
www.veronicafusaro.com

Please follow and like us:

Swiss Live Talents: MUMA 2017

Am Wochenende fand in Bern der 3. Swiss Live Talents statt, der dieses Jahr um den Music Marathon erweitert wurde. Und ich durfte dabei sein. Als Supporter von Schweizer Musik war ich natürlich gespannt auf dieses Wochenende, auch wenn ich am Ende nicht alles besucht hab, was ich ursprünglich geplant hatte.

Der Music Marathon

Die Swiss Live Talents Awards werden alle zwei Jahre von der SwissAmp vergeben. Der Event bringt Künstler, Medien, Konzertveranstalter sowie eine Jury aus Musikprofis zusammen. Nun wurde dieser Event um den Music Marthon – kurz MUMA – erweitert. Während zwei Tagen traten nun zum 1. Mal am 40 Bands und Musiker aus 7 verschiedenen Kategorien in sechs verschiedenen Clubs in Bern auf. Daneben wurden in einer Award Ceremony durch eine internationale Jury die Sieger der jeweiligen Kategorien ausgezeichnet sowie zusätzlich die „Public“ sowie „Foundation Suisa“ Awards verliehen.

Am Samstag fanden neben der Award Ceremony noch Workshops und Panels statt, an die ich es leider nicht geschafft habe. Eigentlich hatte ich an dem Wochenende gar nicht die Energie für einen solchen Event. Aber ich ging trotzdem hin und die Hauptsache waren dann natürlich die Konzerte. Bei so einer grossen Auswahl von auch mir die meisten noch unbekannten Bands und Musikern ist es aber gar nicht so einfach sich zu entscheiden, was man sich denn anhören geht.

Gut, die Lokale liegen alle in der Nähe von einander, so hätte man sich jeweils einfach Teile der Shows ansehen können. Aber pff, das wäre dann auch eher anstrengend gewesen. 😉 Ausserdem fanden doch viele Konzerte recht spät statt. Die Nacht deshalb durch zu machen, musste zumindest an diesem Wochenende irgendwie grad nicht sein 😉

Ich hab mir vier Acts angesehen – zwei Bekannte und zwei neue.

Die Konzerte

Am Freitag spielten Make Plain und John Gailo im ISC Club sowie The Souls im Dachstock. Eigentlich mach ich immer eher einen riesigen Bogen um die Reitschule. Find das da grundsätzlich etwas zu mühsam und fühl mich nicht unbedingt so wohl da. Auch wenn es wirklich coole Konzertlokale drin hat. Der Dachstock vor allem ist super schön. The Souls waren natürlich ein MUST. Ich kann nicht an einen Event, an dem sie spielen und dann ihr Konzert nicht sehen. Das geht einfach nicht 😉

Die Shows dauerten jeweils so 45-60 min. Also mehr Showcases als komplette Konzerte.

Make Plain

Starten tat mein Freitagabend erst Mal mit dem Tessiner Duo Make Plain.  Make Plain sind Luca und Andrea, bei denen der eine an Keyboard, Gitarre, Cajon und Drums spielte, der andere Akustik- und E-Gitarre. Die beiden haben 2011 zusammen begonnen Musik zu machen und seither zwei Alben veröffentlicht – ihr Debutalbum „Make it Plain“ im 2013 und „Side Street“ im 2016. Ihre Songs bewegen sich in den Genren Folk, Country und Blues.

Die beiden haben vor allem Covers wie „Waggon Wheel“ von Bob Dylan, “Lady d’Arbanville” von Cat Stevens oder auch die wunderbare Instrumentalversion von “Amazing Grace” gespielt. Zugegeben, ich kannte die meisten Songs nicht…. Ob sie also unter den paar Songs auch eigene hatten, kann ich ganz ehrlich nicht mal sagen. Das hab ich bisher noch nicht so richtig rausgefunden.

Nichts desto trotz war es schön ihnen zuzuhören. Vor allem die folkigeren Lieder haben mir gut gefallen.

John Gailo

John Gailo waren da ganz anders. John Gailo ist eine 4-köpfige Rockband aus Zurich. Sie kamen ja schon mit dem kunterbuntesten Bandbus daher. Mit Leoparden Leggins , goldenen Schuhen und weissen Masken sah die Band auch schon mal besonders interessant aus.

Gehört hatte ich von der Band durch den Gitarristen, den ich durch Zibbz und Tobey Lucas kenne und auch bei Eluveitie spielt. Allerdings wurden die einzelnen Mitglieder nicht etwa mit den wirklichen Namen vorgestellt, sondern alle einzeln ebenfalls einfach als John Gailo. Soll wohl keiner wissen 😉

…ähm, wartet mal, hab ich jetzt zu viel verraten…?

Egal, viel wichtiger ist ja eigentlich die Musik.

Ich war erst davor noch unsicher, ob mir das gefallen könnte. Von Youtube her tendierte ich allerdings schon dazu. Und ja, live wars noch besser. Ich fand die dann richtig cool. Sie haben nicht nur eine Frau an der Front, die richtig toll singt, sondern ihr Sound allgemein fand ich super. John Gailo haben total gerockt, auch wenn man das am sehr zurückhaltenden Publikum nicht unbedingt anmerkte.

Ja, der ganze Event hatte ich mir vielleicht schon etwas anders vorgestellt. Stimmung und so passte irgendwie nicht immer sonderlich gut. Vielleicht hatte ich auch zu sehr das Honky Tonk im Kopf… Naja, kurz vor John Gailo’s Konzertende ging es dann noch rüber in den Dachstock, wo The Souls spielten.

The Souls

Ja, die Thuner Band gehört bekanntlich zu meinen Favoriten und ich konnte natürlich nicht an den MUMA ohne sie zu sehen. Durch sie wusste ich überhaupt von dem Event.

Nachdem mir ein Bandmember entgegen gekommen war und meinte, sie hätten nicht gut gespielt, lag es offensichtlich nicht nur an mir, dass mich das Konzert an dem Abend allerdings nicht so sehr mitgerissen hat wie auch schon. Sooo schlimm war es aber doch eigentlich dann auch gar nicht. 😉

Mit der EP Taufe von 2015 im Hinterkopf waren die Erwartungen ans ganze Konzert vielleicht auch etwas zu hoch. Das von damals konnte man so halt wohl kaum toppen. Es waren auch irgendwie nicht so viele Bekannte im Publikum. Neben der üblichen Setlist mit „Live“ und der aktuellen Single „Move On“ haben sie zu meiner Freude aber auch wieder “Run Baby Run” gespielt. Und ja, ich kenn das Problem mit Bands wollen möglicherweise gewisse Songs halt am liebsten nicht mehr spielen….

ALL XS

Nach ihnen standen dann ALL XS auf der Bühne. Die hörte ich mir dann ganz ehrlich nur noch an, weil ich auf den Moonliner wartete. Das Berner Quartett war so gar nicht mein Ding. Sie waren mir zu elektronisch und dann auch zu monoton. Ich weiss, ich bin da sehr heikel und wählerisch. 😉 Naja, sie scheinen halt irgendwie so ein typischer Aftershow-Party Act. Ziemlich viele Elektro- und Tanzfans schienen allerdings ihren Spass daran zu haben.

Veronica Fusaro

Da war mir Veronica Fusaro am Samstagabend doch viel lieber. Sie stand ganz allein auf der grossen Dachstock-Bühne mit Gitarre, Loopstation und Synthies, begeisterte ihr Publikum damit und mit ihrer Stimme. Ich mag sie und ihre Popsongs. Ich würd sie allerdings tatsächlich gerne mal wieder mit ganzer Band sehen. Auf der Setlist stand natürlich ihre aktuelle Single “Better If I Go”. Besonders begeistert war ich an diesem Abend wieder von ihrer „Wayfaring Stranger“-Version.

OneSentence.Supervisor

OneSentence.Supervisor spielten direkt nach Veronica Fusaro unten im Rössli. Einfach im Dachstock die Treppe runter und schon stand man am Konzert. Noch bevor Veronica’s Konzert fertig war, dröhnte es schon unten hoch (sehr nervig!). Standen im grossen Dachstock (ca. 800 Personen Kapazität) alle ziemlich locker , gab es unten kaum ein Durchkommen. Hätten sie das mal mit den Bühne anders rum gemacht?!

Stand man ganz hinten, kriegte man nicht viel mehr als den dröhnenden Bass mit. Ich kannte die Badener Popband zwar schon und hatte gar nicht vor sie mir anzuhören, aber Geschmäcker können sich ja ändern. Aber so fand ich dann doch nicht raus, ob das vielleicht doch noch was für mich sein könnte.

Erwartungen und MUMA-Favorit

Meine Erwartungen an diesen Music Marathon waren also soweit nicht ganz erfüllt. Die gesehenen Konzerte waren alle meist gut und es hat vor allem Spass gemacht neue Bands zu sehen. Das funktioniert definitiv und John Gailo waren dabei mein Favorit. Die Stimmung fand ich bei allen aber leider nicht sonderlich grandios. Im Publikum war teils einfach auch zu viel Geschwätze. Das macht halt an einem Konzert so viel aus. Das waren aber natürlich nur ein Bruchteil aller Konzerte. Trotzdem kann ich mir vorstellen auch nächstes Mal wieder hinzugehen – eben vor allem wegen dem neue Bands entdecken.

Wie gesagt, der nächste Swiss Live Talents Event findet aber erst in 2 Jahren wieder statt. Bis dahin einfach so immer mal die Ohren offen halten 😉

 

Infos zu dem Music Marathon findet ihr unter swisslivetalents.ch

Bands:
Make Plain auf Facebook
www.johngailo.com
www.thesouls.ch
www.veronicafusaro.com

Please follow and like us: